Skip to content

Were you looking for a transcript?

August 28, 2008

Well, sorry, I’m not about to give you one. WAY too time-consuming. But friend of the show and past participant David Rothman points you in the direction of EveryZing, a search engine for audio content. (Numerous bonus points for using Uncontrolled Vocabulary as the example!)

When the audio search engine known as Podzinger disappeared and relaunched as EveryZing, I was under the impression that it was a enterprise-oriented audio search tool. But apparently you too can access the power of machine-transcribed searchable audio. Check out David’s post for more details.

From → Notices

4 Comments
  1. There are services out there that cater to podcasters. One service in California will do transcripts of your podcast with a 3-5 day turnaround. A thirty minute episode of LISTen would cost $40. A roughly sixty minute episode of UV would cost about $80. If you wanted such faster, the costs escalate. Mind you, that was one of the cheaper services located thus far.

    That is why LISTen does not offer transcripts if there is concurrently no funding to operate off of. Not only would Greg not have the time to transcribe UV, I doubt he would be willing to shell out $320 or so per month for episode transcripts. While this is something I have had requests for as well, I can only say that the biggest factor on my end is funding.

    Transcripts are not free and never really have been. LISTen is not accessible through EveryZing as far as I can tell. Then again, I would probably prefer human-generated transcripts over machine-generated since even Jott has trouble understanding me uttering basic commands.

    I’m sorry Greg. I just wanted to add some figures in from what my crew has been dealing with. We have had this as an open question for months as we have yet to resolve it.

  2. I apologize for being mistaken on the rates above. An example rate card for transcribing a podcast can be found at http://www.nobletranscription.com/rates.html .

  3. You’re right, Stephen. I’m not paying for transcripts, unless someone wants to fund that effort. I don’t think I was indexed in EveryZing that last time I looked, so perhaps they are just slowly expanding their coverage. Not sure. The machine transcription is always good for a laugh though.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. I repeat: Were you looking for a transcript? | Uncontrolled Vocabulary

Leave a Reply

