Skip to content

Uncontrolled Vocabulary #52 – Uncontrolled Tech Support

July 30, 2008

Uncontrolled Vocabulary #52 is now available for download. Here’s a direct link to the mp3.

You can subscribe to the podcast (as well as this blog) via the following feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/uncontrolledvocabulary

On the call:

Greg Schwartz, Louisville Free Public Library
Christa Burns, Nebraska Library Commission
Connie Crosby, Crosby Consulting Group
Gabe Geltzer, LibGig
Robin Hastings, Missouri River Regional Library
Lori Reed, Public Library of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County
Michael Sauers, Nebraska Library Commission
Deb Schwarz, Library Associates
Jezmynne Westcott, Claremont University Consortium

Links to the show topics:

1. A conversation with the folks from LibGig

2. Do Senior Librarians Have a Moral Obligation to Retire? (Law Librarian Blog)

3. Literacy Debate: Online, R U Really Reading? (New York Times)

4. Medical Version of Wikipedia, With Universities’ Help, Gets Ready to Go Live (Chronicle of Higher Education)

5. Former Employees of Google Prepare Rival Search Engine (New York Times)
Cuil

On the agenda, but not discussed:
Boys seek new policy on children in library (Press-Register)
Tired of city fees, residents form own library (kgw.com)

From → Episodes

5 Comments
  1. My favorite part of the show: “Uncontrolled Tech Support.” I was listening to the podcast and yelling for Michael Sauers to scroll down. My fellow commuters thought it was odd…

  2. @Chris – Well, as you can tell from the show title, I thought it pretty amusing myself. Wasn’t sure if it made for great audio, so I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  3. I listened to this (on my new toy) last night and also thought the Uncontrolled Tech Support bit was funny. I also greatly enjoyed hearing you all make fun of Cuil. I think making fun of some new site ought to be a regular feature on the show. The one difficulty of listening instead of participating is that I keep trying to comment and realizing I can’t.

  4. Well, I was considering introducing a segment where we talk about some new website/service/technology. I’m sure it would involve a lot of making fun of things.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Library Attack » Blog Archive » That Retirement Thang.

Leave a Reply

