Skip to content

Uncontrolled Vocabulary #40 – Don’t Self-Deprecate Yourself

April 30, 2008

Uncontrolled Vocabulary #40 is now available for download. Here’s a direct link to the mp3.

You can subscribe to the podcast (as well as this blog) via the following feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/uncontrolledvocabulary

On the call:

Greg Schwartz, Louisville Free Public Library
Laura Carscaddon, University of Arizona
Karen Coombs, University of Houston Libraries
Connie Crosby, Leisure Girl
Laura Crossett, Park County (WY) Library System
Tim Keneipp, La Crosse Public Library
Joshua M. Neff, Johnson County Public Library
Michael Sauers, Nebraska Library Commission
Julie Strange, Maryland AskUsNow!

Links to the show topics:

1. Oregon continues to insist that its laws are copyrighted and can’t be published (Boing Boing)

2. Microsoft device helps police pluck evidence from cyberscene of crime (Seattle Times)
Microsoft denies handing law enforcement ‘backdoor’ keys (Lamp)

3. Sorry But You Can’t Have It All (ACRLog)
Do I really want it all? (LISNews.org)
But What If I Don’t Want it All? (Academic Librarian)

4. Stepping into marketing (Open Stacks)

5. MARC, OPACs, and Podcasts (GutterType)

Submissions on the agenda that we didn’t get to:
Appraising the Deborah Jacobs revolution at Seattle libraries (Crosscut.com)
The Twitter Blacklist
Why we are the biggest obstacles to our own growth (Raganwald)

From → Episodes

7 Comments
  1. Regarding librarians promoting themselves (and their libraries).

    We had a local social networking meet-up here in Halifax and I was asked to do a 5 minute talk about what I was doing at the library. That was a great opportunity; people were interested in what I was doing; I think I did a fair job of it; and dammit! I think we should be out in the community marketing our skills.

  2. Jason permalink

    The administration topic is very relevant for me, as I just got an Asst. Dir. spot at a public library.

    I’m a firmly rooted Gen X’er, and I try very hard to be an agent for change. I agree with whoever mentioned that “the paradigms [of work] have to change.”

    I feel like the fact of whether or not I wear a tie to work every day doesn’t affect the ability to do my job efficiently and effectively.

    Thanks for discussing this!

  3. @Ryan Of course, you did. You’re a rock star. And who’d disagree with your last statement? But I also think we should be in the digital community, engaging the digirati and, in so doing, establishing our awesomeness with people who might have progressively less and less obvious use for physical library spaces.

    @Jason Yup. I tend to agree. Unfortunately, perception is still a major issue. Be bold, be brave, be yourself. Cheers!

  4. I don’t think that all librarians, catalogers specifically, are not thinking/talking about integrating the metadata for digital collections with the traditional MARC catalog. The catalogers I hang out with are excited about working with non-MARC metadata and are pondering ways to integrate the two for our users. The main thing they struggle with is the lack of tools with which to do this, and their own lack of coding skills to make those tools.

    After all these years, the ILS vendors haven’t managed to use MARC to present the metadata to its full, semantic potential. I doubt they will be able to do much better if we throw in Dublin Core, DLXS, or whatever the NextGen digital collection metadata schema will be.

    Librarians will be struggling with these issues for years to come, unless the OPAC becomes something more than just a digitized card catalog.

  5. @Anna There’s such a thing as non-MARC metadata? Where? Certainly not in my OPAC. 😉

    Thanks for your thoughts. I tend to agree that we’re a ways away from any real breaking out of the MARC box. I’m still slow to grok why MARC is so broken (or inflexible?) that we can’t make it work for digital collections. But I’m learning.

  6. esseffen permalink

    I’m an occasional listener.

    I’m surprised that you put the Oregon Revised Statutes copyright dispute on your agenda only to gloss over it as not issue-y.

    Maybe I’m not reading every article, but legal issues aside, the question I think librarians should be asking is: is copyrighting a compendium of laws the best way to preserve free public access to those laws?

    We have to assume that this is the Oregon’s Legislative Council Committee’s intent.

    So far, the resounding answer from the internet is ‘no’, but from a librarian’s perspective, is there more to it?

  7. @esseffen It’s not that it’s not issue-y. It’s that we talked about it two weeks ago (http://uncontrolledvocabulary.com/2008/04/17/uncontrolled-vocabulary-38-sandy-berman-gone-bad/) and there wasn’t really any new information to add, even with the additional Boing Boing post. It actually wasn’t on the agenda, but the new post was brought up by some of the participants just before we started recording.

    So what you’re saying is that the Oregon is pursuing copyright protection in an effort to preserve free access? I don’t think we HAVE to assume that, but Oregon is probably well-intentioned and trying to maintain an ad-free context for viewing legislative material. That doesn’t translate to copyright protection of state laws (although the added material of annotations and such are apparently a little fuzzier copyright-wise).

    Thanks for listening and commenting!

Leave a Reply

